Leaving…On A Jet Plane

I have been an Epic consultant for a month now, and so far it seems to have been the right choice.  I work for an amazingly great firm, and I work with amazingly great people.  We’ve had a couple of family hiccups but nothing really major, with me being gone 4 days a week.  I’m cautiously thinking that this is going to work for us.

I’m partially settled into my new routine.  I fly out at 5am every Monday to get to my client site in South Carolina by 9am or so, and I get home around 10pm Thursday.  Traveling is fine, I love to travel.  Airports, layovers, hotels, and all of that are fine.  I’m still working on getting used to the new pace at work, and how to balance having a client for a customer…and the client’s customers as a customer, and satisfying both while also being outside of both.  If that makes any sense at all.

I am, though, finding out some things that I consider truths:

  • Getting up at 2:30am every Monday sucks.  Just.  Plain. Sucks.
  • Make sure any layover is at least an hour.
  • I don’t care if I fly every week, I am still like a little kid on the plane, and I want a window seat, and I will be grinning out the window for every takeoff and landing.
  • It’s okay to be a business traveler, and not act jaded everywhere I go.  It’s okay to be excited about flying in a jet, and to ogle a particularly opulent hotel lobby.
  • Be nice to the folks who work the counters at the airport, hotel and rental car…you need them to take care of you.
  • I’m not the first person to make this transition, and the folks I work with are great at reassuring me when I get the new-consultant heebie-jeebies.
  • I can’t sleep in a car, or on a bus, but I can on an airplane.  Why?  No idea.
  • In-flight coffee is nasty stuff, but it does the trick.
  • The advice John McClain was given in “Die Hard,” to make fists with his toes in the carpet?  Pure garbage.
  • When you have a car at home that you really like, rental cars aren’t such a big deal.
  • South Carolina makes it damn hard to eat out responsibly — they reeeeally want to sell you fried chicken, or BBQ, or a cheeseburger, and it’s all going to be slathered with pimiento cheese.
  • Florida is too far south to be The South.  South Carolina, however IS The South, and you must act differently there.  People are more polite.
  • I miss my family more than I thought I would when I’m gone.

That’s all for now.  I’m sure I’ll have more revelations, or sub-revelations, or whatever, but not right now.

Leave a Reply

